The Love Story

I have taken a long hiatus from updating this blog, because several events placed wedding planning far from my mind. I just had one of the most stressful and sad Christmas breaks ever, but I digress.

Anyway, I have decided that to get myself back on track with planning for the wedding (and also to satisfy the requests of several people), I shall document our love story, or at least how it all began.

Casey and I have known each other since we were kids, because we attended the same music extension program, Philippine Research for Developing Instrumental Soloists (PREDIS). However, we never used to talk with each other. I never actually really paid him any attention when we were in grade school and high school, because I thought he looked “shrimpy” (my term for guys that are way too thin and therefore unattractive). Haha.

Image

Shrimpy Days

Luckily, in 2010, he began gaining weight and therefore his physical appearance became acceptable to me. Hahaha. It was also in 2010 that we began to hang out and talk with each other. We would go out as a group with other friends from our orchestra, the Manila Symphony Orchestra (MSO), and then we would end up going out after, just the two of us.

We found out that we naturally clicked; I felt at ease with him. We would spend hours at Starbucks or at sit-down bars just talking. We were also very spontaneous with our activities, deciding to go on spur-of-the-moment road trips to Tagaytay or Antipolo. It was in Antipolo, Cloud 9 to be specific, where Casey first confessed that he had romantic feelings for me. We were sitting in Jill (my car), enjoying the cool night air, when he said “You drive me crazy.” My first reaction was to laugh because I found it cliché, and also because I knew that he meant it not only in the romantic sense, but also literally. Haha. He continued, saying, “Really, being with you is a rollercoaster ride. One minute we’re having a great time, the next, we’re fighting. But that’s what I really enjoy about you. You’re not like other girls who just silently accept whatever I say. You fight back. So, this may be cliché to you, but I’ll say it anyway. You rock my world.”

After that, he began courting me, which meant that we would still go out like before, but with him having the clear intention of seeking to become my exclusive partner aka boyfriend. This also meant more gifts and treats for me (hehehe). He did all the usual stuff (flowers, constant attention, nice dinners), but what really stood out is the day he surprised me with a quartet performance of our “theme” song, Follow Through by Gavin DeGraw, which he arranged for string quartet himself. So of course, how could I say no to him? I signaled my acceptance by making a slideshow story for him, and we became official on October 21, 2010.

Image

Since that day, we’ve had our fair share of ups and downs. It hasn’t been that easy a relationship, and we’ve really had to work on several issues, but what I can say for certain is that Casey is good for me. He makes me a better person (and I hope he can say the same for me as well). And so when he asked me to spend the rest of my life with him, even if I had never really envisioned myself getting married, I knew there was only one answer I wanted to give him. 🙂 We are relatively young to be engaged. He is 25 and I am 23, but in the three years that we have been together, I have learned that we make a good team. We are not perfect, and we still have much to learn, but I believe that we genuinely love and care about each other, and I think that’s all you really need in order to begin a lifelong union.

Image

Rosie, Casey, and Sito the Yellow Tiger

Indeed, “the greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return.” Now as I write this, I realize that love is a process that does not take days, months, or even years to learn; it takes a lifetime. And with this epiphany comes overwhelming joy and gratitude that I am going to learn to love with someone as wonderful as Casey. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Love Story

Leave a Reply

